Season’s JPO 2020 line-up

Vivian Pretorius

Braamfontein – The Johannesburg Philharmonic Orchestra (JPO) has announced details of its 2020 Summer Season programme.

  JPO artistic director Bongani Tembe said they are showcasing the 2020 World Symphony Series this summer with a line-up of international talent and leading South African soloists.

  “While we are appreciative of the support, we enjoy from our family of regular concert goers, we urge each of you to introduce the wonder of music to as many more members of your family, colleagues and peers, as possible. Encourage them; empower them, to share your experience. Music in our lives matters on so many levels,” Tembe said.

  The season launches with a special Valentine’s Variety Gala programme on 12, 13 and 14 February. 

  American conductor William Eddins shares the spotlight with two guest soloists, Montenegrin guitarist Goran Krivokapiæ and young South African soprano, Zandile Mzazi, who join the orchestra in performing a richly curated programme of concert bon-bons by Berlioz, Rodrigo, Mascagni, Massenet, Khachaturian, Verdi, Lehar and Tchaikovsky.

  Japanese maestro Yasuo Shinozaki returns to the JPO podium on 19 and 20 February, in three concert staples of widely different character: Ravel’s hugely popular Bolero; and his fiercely taxing Left Hand Piano Concerto; concluding with Mussorgsky’s masterly Pictures at an Exhibition.

  Netherlands-born conductor Arjan Tien, taking the podium on 26 and 27 February, salutes the 250th Beethoven anniversary with performances of two Beethoven favourites, the Leonore Overture No 1 and the Triple Concerto, played by pianist Malcolm Nay, violinist Tai Murray and cellist Aristide du Plessis. The evening closes with Bizet’s delightful Symphony in C.

  Israeli-American conductor Daniel Boico is at the helm for the final concerts on 4, 5 and 7 March featuring Beethoven’s Emperor Concerto, soloist Jan Jiracek von Arnim, and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No 4.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *