JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA - SEPTEMBER 02: Molefi Ntseki (Cpach) of Bafana Bafana and during the South African national soccer team press conference at Crowne Plaza Hotel on September 02, 2019 in Johannesburg, South Africa. (Photo by Sydney Seshibedi/Gallo Images)

Bafana in tough World Cup group – Ntseki

Sports Reporter

For the Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup group phase qualifiers, Bafana Bafana head coach Molefi Ntseki says they have been drawn in a tough Group C, which comprises Ghana, Ethiopia and neighbours Zimbabwe.

  Bafana Bafana will face Ghana again, who they are currently contesting a 2021 Africa Cup of Nations spot with, after the two were drawn against each other in that competition.

  The World Cup qualifiers kickoff in October and will run until November 2021, and only the group winners will proceed to the final round of qualifying; where the 10 winners will pitted against each other on a home and away basis to determine the five that will represent Africa in Qatar.

  South Africa missed out on the Brazil 2014 and Russia 2018 tournaments; the last qualification was on home soil in 2010.

  Ntseki said every team in the Top 40 is playing to qualify for the five spots in the World Cup. “We are aware of the qualities of Ghana coming into the qualifiers, we are aware of our neighbours Zimbabwe and also of Ethiopia, who did well to win their preliminary match against Lesotho to be in the draw. All the teams in our group will be given the same respect because they deserve to be here. It will be a tough one but we are looking forward to a good start in qualifying for the 2022 FIFA World Cup,” he said.

Qatar 2022 Fifa World Cup Draw

Group A: Algeria, Burkina Faso, Niger, Djibouti

Group B: Tunisia, Zambia, Mauritania, Equatorial Guinea

Group C: Nigeria, Cape Verde Islands, Central African Republic, Liberia

Group D: Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Mozambique, Malawi

Group E: Mali, Uganda, Kenya, Rwanda

Group F: Egypt, Gabon, Libya, Angola

Group G: Ghana, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Ethiopia

Group H: Senegal, Congo, Namibia, Togo

Group I: Morocco, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Sudan

Group J: Congo DR, Benin, Madagascar, Tanzania

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *